New and Improved: The Seven Seas “Writer” Journal

IMG_2311

If you’re like me, once you started exploring the strange and wondrous world of fine writing instruments, you quickly learned that not just any paper would do. For one thing, fountain pen ink wreaks havoc with standard copy paper and ruled notebooks. Even those swanky designer journals you can find at Barnes & Noble are hit-and-miss, and even the better ones which stand up to drier writers will bleed at the touch of a broader italic stub. Furthermore, as we refine our taste in writing instruments, we begin to want paper worthy of our pens. And Tomoe River paper is that paper.

This is the Seven Seas “Writer” journal, which has replaced the Seven Seas Tomoe River Journal (previously available at NanamiPaper.com). The Writer’s updates affect mostly the appearance of the journal rather than the performance, and overall I think they will be welcomed by Tomoe River paper’s cult following.

When you take it out of the box and protective corrugated wrapping, the first big difference I noticed was that the journal now comes pre-packaged in a protective kraft slipcase which you can use to tote the journal around in or store it once you fill it up (though that won’t be for a good long while, since it contains a whopping 480 pages of A5-size Tomoe River paper). The slipcase is a good snug fit for the journal, open on one end.

IMG_2303

The most relevant and obvious change in the journal itself is in the color of the cover. Instead of the country red diamond-patterned soft cover, it’s now made out of a black textile with a silk-grain finish. The result is sleek, low-profile, and grippy enough that it won’t slip out of your hands and risk crumpling up all that beautiful onion-skin-thin paper when it hits the floor.

IMG_2304

The cover is very thin, but it’s also slightly stiffer than the old version — added protection, I suppose. I haven’t handled the old version of the journal so I can’t tell you how different it feels in hand, but in any case, the newer, stiffer cover doesn’t prevent it from being a super flexible journal.

IMG_2314

After the above flex-test. Cover stays shut all on its own.

In addition to the other feature updates, the lines are 20% lighter than the old ones. As you can see from the following photos, once you put ink to the paper, the lines practically disappear. They are printed in a very faint gray ink that is just dark enough to guide your line. Considering I was kind of bummed out that they didn’t offer this journal with blank pages, this is a feature I’m particularly fond of.

IMG_2332As for the rest of the specs, they’re mostly the same. You can read more about them at NanamiPaper’s website, and since Ed Jelley did such a good review of the original journal I’ll spare you the repeat info. What I will say is that I love this journal. I’ve been using Tomoe River paper almost exclusively for my correspondence lately since it takes fountain pen ink so incredibly well, but the paper’s such a delight to write on that I wanted it in a format that I could use and keep for myself. This of course begs the question that I’ll have something worth writing in this fine book — I already have a decent personal journal and a Rhodia Webbie commonplace book which does double-duty as a pen and ink testing ground.

IMG_2333

But one of the perks of this journal is that it can be as casual as you want it to be. The paper takes pencil as well as it does wet fountain pen ink, and while the cover is nice and the spine is extremely flexible, the overall aesthetic is low-key and no-fuss — I would not worry, for example, about scuffing or staining the cover. Additionally, you can dress it up with any A5-size notebook covers, and indeed, Nanami Paper carries a few options in their shop, including a higher-end genuine leather option. (Personally, I’m fantasizing about sticking this in my heretofore-only-dreamt-of Roterfaden Taschenbegleiter.)

IMG_2310

But no matter your preference, I suggest you dress your Writer’s journal somehow. I was worried about the durability of a journal made out of such thin, delicate paper, which reminds me of what you’d find in a high-quality leather-bound Bible. All it’s missing is the gilded outer edge. (It even has a couple of ribbon bookmarks — one in brown, the other in navy.) However, I did buy one of the “cheap” plastic book covers from Nanami Paper, just to give this $36 journal an extra layer of protection. Since the journal’s covers are cut flush with the edges of the paper block, it helps to have a little bit of cushion around the journal to keep the paper from getting dinged up.

IMG_2316

The book cover comes with a pretty cute newsprint-patterned insert, which you can leave in or take out, like I did. (Note that Nanami Paper also sells cardstock cut to fit the inside of your cheap cover, if you want to snazz it up a bit.) It fits the journal well — not loose, but not so tight that it hinders flexibility. Its seams and edges aren’t sharp, like some cheap plastic book covers I’ve used before, so it doesn’t detract from the great tactile experience of writing in this journal.

IMG_2322

It also features these little push-out flaps on the insides of the covers. At first I thought they were meant to hold the pages flat while you write, but they were too weak to do so effectively. I have decided they work better as extra bookmarks.

IMG_2325

There’s also room to slide in the blotter sheet that comes with the journal, if you’re inclined to do so.

IMG_2327

What do you think of the new and improved Tomoe River journal? Would you pick one up? Let me know in the comments.

This review was written with J. Herbin’s Rouge Hematite and a Noodler’s acrylic Konrad Flex.

19 thoughts on “New and Improved: The Seven Seas “Writer” Journal

    • There is really no bleedthrough at all! That’s the crazy thing about this paper — although it’s tissue-thin, it doesn’t bleed. Lots of ghosting, but I’ve found (and will post a photo update soon) that you can still write on both sides and the ghosting from the other side is almost not noticeable. The paper is made for fountain pens and, unlike Rhodia paper, isn’t so glossy that it takes all day to dry. (I still use blotter paper, though.) Thanks for commenting!

  1. I just started using my Writer’s Journal with my pens. To my surprise, I did not mid the show through as much as I expected and comfortably used the back of the pages with a fairly wet Waterman Phileas with a medium nib and Sailor Jentle Blue. No bleeding and the journal layer flat even for the first few pages and was a pleasure to write in.

  2. Great review. I would be tempted to buy one, however Ghosting bugs the heck out of me as much as bleed through. I have used Leuchtturm 1917 journals who also have extremely faded lines. I have found that when I really get into writing, it can be difficult to keep straight lines. Being somewhat OCD about how I write and what not (at times) it bugged me a bit. But you say this journal has some 400+ pages. I suppose that as long as it comes in a size “larger” than 5 x 7, I would be ok with that and could ignore a little ghosting.

    • It’s an A5 journal — about 8×6. I don’t find the lines hard to see, personally, until you write over them, and then they kind of disappear! If you haven’t used Tomoe River paper, I suggest trying some before dropping $30+ on a whole journal made out of the stuff (although I’ve yet to find someone who doesn’t love TR paper). Nanamipaper.com and Paperforfountainpens.com both carry A5-sized correspondence pads, each with 100 sheets of white or cream paper. They’re affordable — Nanami has them for $9, but they’re on vacation right now so the shop’s not open. Paper For Fountain Pens has them for $11. Nanami used to have samples available, but I’m not finding them on the site right now — you might check EBay.

  3. Sheryl C says:

    I saw in my most recent jet pens.com newsletter that they have Tomoe River paper, white or cream, in 100 sheet packs ($15) or 3 sheets for $1 – I’ll be adding the latter to my next order!

  4. Damian Augustus says:

    Thanks for the blog. I enjoy Japanese paper too. Pray tell what is that little blue fountain pen you have next to the notebook?

    Cheers,

    Damian

  5. Kathy Fletcher says:

    I have searched and searched for the Seven Seas standard A5 journal/notebook and cannot find it any where- do you know where they are available?

  6. Robert says:

    I was just going to order this, but I can’t bring myself to spend $65AUD to purchase and ship a single notebook, even one as nice as this. Perhaps if the international shipping options were a less pricey I’d consider it.

Leave a Reply

