UPDATE: Seven Seas “Writers” Notebook

Update to my review of the Seven Seas “Writer’s” Notebook:

1. First, put some Fray-Check on the ends of those ribbons first thing when you get it out of the box. Mine frayed pretty badly before I caught it.

2. Most of the reviews I see advocate only writing on one side of Tomoe River paper. But I’ve found that the heavy ghosting becomes a complete non-issue, at least for me, when I write over it.

Writing on page 2 visible through blank page 1.

Writing on page 2 visible through blank page 1.

IMG_2468

A couple pages’ worth of ghosting are visible here (follow the criss-crossing slanted lines).

IMG_2467

But notice that where there is text (in Noodler’s Black Swan in Australian Roses), the ghosting isn’t a distraction.

IMG_2466

3. This paper can handle a lot of ink. Below is an image of some text I did with a dip-pen calligraphy nib that was giving me problems with flow. The ink (De Atramentis’ Myrrh, fyi) flowed so much that it pooled and dried with a darker ring around the edges of each stroke, almost so that it resembled sheen — but it didn’t bleed through. Heavy ghosting, yes, but no bleed. And, miraculously, it dried fast. These lines were written just four or five from the bottom of the page; by the time I used my blotter sheet, it had already dried.

IMG_2471

I don’t know what devil’s deal those Tomoe River people took, but this paper is the golden fiddle of stationery.

13 thoughts on “UPDATE: Seven Seas “Writers” Notebook

    • I’ve been using the paper every day for letter-writing, journaling, etc — it’s addicting! I like it even better than Clairefontaine, which can be a bit too glossy and slow-drying for my taste.

  1. Thanks for posting the pictures! I’m definitely going to give this a try. I love Clairefontaine paper, but it IS slow-drying, and if you like the Tomoe River paper better, I must try it. 🙂

  2. I have been using this notebook in a damp Australian rainforest for daily journaling. It works great, and I agree that the ghosting is a non-issue once the page is filled with writing (I have been using fine and extrafine, FYI).

    Great blog. More please :-).

      • I have kept the notebook out of the rain. No issues with the high humidity; the paper is still supple and super smooth. I did put a kip leather cover on the notebook (which is a great splurge), but this did not protect the paper.

    • Good to know re: moisture and TR paper. I was trying to find out more about the manufacturing process of the paper — if I manage to dig up anything good, I’ll do another post. Thanks for the info.

      And the BSAR sample is German written in a slightly modified Offenbacher script that was developed in the early 20th century in Germany.

Leave a Reply

