Love At First Write: Tomoe River Correspondence Paper

IMG_2664Although I’ve already written quite a bit about Tomoe River paper (or its various forms) before — both in my post on the Seven Seas Writer journal and my Tomoe River master post — I really haven’t gone into the format that I use on an almost daily basis: the humble correspondence pad from Paper For Fountain Pens.

IMG_2662This pad contains 100 sheets of A5-size paper. PFFP sells them in bundles of three for about $20, and is it ever worth it. I have the white version. The sheets are sandwiched between a stiff cardboard back (stamped with the PFFP URL) and a sheet of heavier forest-green paper front. The whole bundle is bound with glue at the top.The sheets are very easy to tear out; I’ve only ever had one corner rip. Once you get toward the bottom of the pad, the cover is likely to fall off. You won’t be toting this pad around with you, unless you don’t mind getting the edges banged up, scuffed, or crumpled.

The paper itself: This is, hands down, the best paper I’ve ever used in my life. It’s extremely thin, translucent even, clocking in at only 52gsm. I’ve described it as feather-light and thin as onion-skin. But despite its apparent fragility, it handles every ink I’ve thrown at it with boundless grace and fortitude.

IMG_2663You can see the delicate golden sheen in the example of the Iroshizuku Momiji ink above. I like Clairefontaine well enough for ink reviews and note-taking, but while its plush surface increases dry time, Tomoe River paper does not. And the only way I’ve ever gotten it to bleed is by pressing too hard with a flex pen.

IMG_2667There is quite a lot of ghosting with TR paper. However, if you’re using letter sheets, it shouldn’t be a problem at all (as one is supposed to write on only one side of a letter sheet). If you’re journaling on it, see my post about ghosting. (Tl;dr: I think that ghosting becomes a non-issue once you write over it.)

Over the past few months, Tomoe River paper has become the ONLY stationery I use for my correspondence. I even carved my own letterhead stamp for it. Because it’s so lightweight, it allows you to write lengthy letters without having to worry about extra postage. It ENCOURAGES you to write lengthy letters, because it’s such a pleasure to write on.

IMG_2665Bottom line: if you use fountain pens, grab yourself some Tomoe River paper. You won’t regret it.

12 thoughts on “Love At First Write: Tomoe River Correspondence Paper

  1. One nitpick with your blog’s template: it’s really hard to see hyperlinks unless I happen to hover over it. I was scanning for ages to see if you linked to the PFFP package of correspondence paper. πŸ˜›

    Also, I’m very curious: is the photographed hard copy version of your review the first draft? I’m amazed at how well written they are, without any crossings-out!

    • Yeah, I’ve noticed that problem too. :/ I’ll see if I can get in and change the link color… tweaking WordPress templates is not as easy as tweaking LJ templates!

      The photographed copy is indeed the first draft! I cook them up in my head pretty thoroughly before putting pen to paper, and then I write pretty slowly as well. And switching pens for each sentence, like I did in this post, gives me even more time to think about what I’m going to write next! It’s definitely a different process from composing on the keyboard.

      • Ugh, don’t I know it (re: tweaking WordPress layouts compared to LJ’s). I’d love to adjust the quote font in my template. I still barely know how to do anything with my blog, in terms of creating additional pages or “menus” and whatnot. Someone suggested to my parents that they use WordPress for Jud’s book site, and it’s just ludicrous — they would have had an awful time getting it to do what they want or making any changes.

        Very impressed at your drafting skills, then!

  2. snowflakeschance says:

    I have the A5 sized journal that Paper for Fountain Pens make with the white Tomoe River paper (374 pages). I wish I were working so I could weigh it on a scale. It is surprisingly light weight. I used a template to print out a lined sheet and place it behind the journal page I am writing on or I start writing uphill. It is the best journal I have ever owned.

    • I really like Ana’s writing guides (over at the Well Appointed Desk blog) for Tomoe River paper. The lines are extra dark and she has two different spacings so you can pick whichever matches your writing or nib size. However, after a few months of writing with the writing guides, I’ve noticed that my writing without the guide has started looking much more even!

Leave a Reply

